Μετάβαση στο κύριο περιεχόμενο

Bebo Valdes & Javier Colina - Live At The Village Vanguard

Artist: Bebo Valdes & Javier Colina
Album: Live At The Village Vanguard
Label: Sony BMG
Format: MP3@320 kbps
Sound Quality: FULL
Size: 150 MB
Type: CD
Country: España
Release Date: 2008
Genre: Afro-Cuban Jazz, Latin, World Fusion

Bebo Valdés has been one of the giants of Cuban music since the 1950s, though he has lived in Stockholm since the early '60s. This live recording, his very first, was made in 2005 over several nights at the Village Vanguard, with Valdés at the age of 86. The pianist's powerful left hand makes it superfluous for him to have a percussionist; his sole accompanist is bassist Javier Colina, a gifted partner who weaves intricate lines with Valdés. Though the music is dominated by Cuban rhythms, this live CD is hardly one-dimensional in scope. Valdés' rhythmic composition "Con Poco Coco" works in quotes from "Old Devil Moon" and "Salt Peanuts." His dramatic rendition of the standard "Yesterdays" is pure mainstream, with a few flourishes added, while his lovely setting of Bill Evans' "Waltz for Debby" is very playful. Of course, the bulk of the disc focuses on Latin gems, including a lighthearted take of Ernesto Lecouna's "Andalucía" and a sauntering version of Lecouna's "Siboney." If there had been room in the packed nightclub, the audience would have likely been up dancing to the lively "Bilongo," though they do chant the lyrics along with the musicians. Highly recommended. ~Ken Dryden, All Music

01 - Con Poco Coco (Bebo Valdés) 06:29
02 - Sabor a Mí (A. Carrillo) 03:34
03 - Ritmando el Cha-Cha-Cha (Bebo Valdés) 05:50
04 - Rosa Mustia (A. Díaz) 06:28
05 - Andalucía (Ernesto Lecuona) 02:29
06 - Siboney (Ernesto Lecuona) 04:11
07 - Tres Palabras (O. Farrés) 02:41
08 - Aquellos Ojos Verdes (N. Menéndez, A. Utreras) 03:54
09 - Bilongo (Guillermo Rodriguez-Fiffe) 05:48
10 - Si Te Contara (F. Reina) 04:30
11 - Bebo's Blues (Bebo Valdés) 04:44
12 - Yesterdays (Jerome Kern) 04:15
13 - El Manisero (M. Simons) 05:26
14 - Waltz for Debby (Bill Evans) 04:50

The Players:
Bebo Valdez - piano
Javier Colina - bass

The comparison between pianists Bebo Valdes and his son Chucho Valdes could be likened to the choice of the Beatles (Bebo) to the Rolling Stones (Chucho). A more likely frame of reference would be Bebo as the Cuban version of Hank Jones and Chucho that of Don Pullen.
Like Jones, Bebo started as an accompanist, only to shine as a soloist in his later years. Now nearly 90, his music just seems to get better and better. This session is his recording at the Village Vanguard, the jazz mecca in New York. Accompanying Valdes is his favorite bassist, Javier Colina.
And like Jones, his simple charm and dignity is ever present in his music making. The lushness of his touch pervades this recording as the audience shows its enthusiasm throughout. He plays three originals, some pop covers, Cuban classics and the familiar jazz standards "Yesterdays" and "Waltz for Debby."
Playing his composition "Con Poco Coco," Valdes makes it clear that Cuban jazz is indeed a fusion of Latin, Caribbean, American jazz, and popular musics. It is all at once joyous and celebratory. When Colina takes up his bow to drop hints of "Old Devil Moon," Valdes retorts with "Salt Peanuts." And so it goes. The audience is encouraged to sing along with the pop tune "Bilongo." Here Valdes' playful side is revealed, as it is on the cha-cha'd "Ritmando el cha-cha-cha." If you ain't swaying in your seat, brother you must be dead.
The pair are well versed in classical Cuban music too. They deftly take on "Siboney" and "Analucia," almost—to repeat, almost—playing them straight. But then there is the boogie-woogie "Bebo's Blues" that turns Gershwin's "Rhapsody" into a Cuban blues, as well as his take on Bill Evans' "Waltz For Debby," which maintains the simplicity of the composition but swings it (with the clever pulse of Colina) with his immutable style. A beautiful recording, I wish I could have been there.
~MARK CORROTO, allaboutjazz


Δημοσίευση σχολίου

If you have any problem about Expired links, Please feel free to contact me via email!

Δημοφιλείς αναρτήσεις από αυτό το ιστολόγιο

Michael Buble - Christmas (Deluxe Special Edition)

Artist: Michael Buble
Title Of Album: Christmas (Deluxe Special Edition)
Year Of Release: 2012
Label: Worner Bros
Genre: Vocal, Christmas, Easy Listening
Type: CD
Quality: MP3
Bitrate: 320 kbps
Total Time: 65
Total Size: 147,9 MB

Track Listing
01. It's Beginning To Look a Lot like Christmas
02. Santa Claus Is Coming to Town
03. Jingle Bells (featuring The Puppini Sisters)
04. White Christmas (Duet With Shania Twain)
05. All I Want for Christmas Is You
06. Holly Jolly Christmas
07. Santa Baby
08. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
09. Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)
10. Silent Night
11. Blue Christmas
12. Cold December Night
13. I'll Be Home for Christmas
14. Ave Maria
15. Mis Deseos/Feliz Navidad (Duet With Thalia)
16. The Christmas Song
17. Winter Wonderland
18. Frosty the Snowman - (featuring The Puppini Sisters)
19. Silver Bells (featuring Naturally 7)
20. Michael's Christmas Greeting

Album Notes
Except for a 2003 EP, Michael Buble hadn't released a holiday album until 2011's Christmas, …


24 αθυρόστομα τραγούδια της Αποκριάς.
Η πιο διάσημη έκδοση του Συλλόγου. Τα «ανίερα-ιερά» τραγούδια της Αποκριάς με την ιερή τους αθυροστομία ετάραξαν τα νερά των σεμνότυφων καπηλευτών της παράδοσης. Ο διπλός δίσκος με τα είκοσι τέσσερα κομμάτια συνοδεύεται από εκτενή κείμενα που αναλύουν το παγανιστικό τελετουργικό πλαίσιο εντός του οποίου λέγονται τα τραγούδια, τραγούδια συνδεδεμένα με συγκεκριμένη εποχή του κοσμικού χρόνου και με ρόλο ιερό κατά τις αντιλήψεις των ανθρώπων της παραδοσιακής αγροτικής κοινωνίας. Παράλληλη έκδοση σε LP και CD.

Εισαγωγικό σημείωμα
Το βέβηλο και το άσεμνο είναι μια πτυχή του λαϊκού μας πολιτισμού που ελάχιστα έχει ανιχνευθεί και μελετηθεί, μια που "επί δεκαετίες, ίσως και αιώνες -όπως παρατηρεί ο καθηγητής Μ. Μερακλής- η υποκριτικά επίπεδη αστική ηθική" και σεμνοτυφία των διανοούμενων συλλογέων την αποσιώπησε και την αγνόησε, παραποιώντας την αλήθεια κάποιων συγκεκριμένων πολιτισμικών φαινομένων. Στην κάλυψη αυτού του κενού θέλει να συμβάλει ο Σύλ…


Artist: Dire Straits Album: Brothers In Arms (20th Anniversary Edition) Label: Warner Bros. Records Catalogue #: 49377-2 Format: MP3@320 kbps Sound Quality: HIGH Size: 124,13 MB Type: Album Country: USA Release Date: 2005 Original Release Date: 1985 Language: English Time: 55:13 Genre: Pop/Rock Styles: Classic Rock, Rock & Roll, Album Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock
Album Review: Brothers in Arms is the fifth studio album by the British rock band Dire Straits, released in 1985. The first half of the album is a development of their unique brand of arena rock which had evolved in their music since the 1980 album Making Movies, while the second half consists of more folk-influenced material. The whole album maintains the original Dire Straits' bluesy and laid back guitar-based sound whilst retaining a more lavish and bombastic production and overall sound. It is the band's best-selling album, and one of the top 10 best-selling albums in UK music history.
History: Brothers in Arms was one of the …